Kai Althoff

Kai Althoff

> deutsch

Outside and in the Midst of it All: A portrait by Sabine Elsa Müller

“But spirituality and adornment are no enemies, rather both are to discover their natural unification within the feeble attempt to make life bearable.”

The accompanying text that Kai Althoff used for his first solo show at Michael Werner in 2014, read like a manifesto that culminated in a call for balance between spirituality and decoration.

Just like spirituality, beautiful form, decoration is ascribed the ability to calm the soul—on an aesthetic level. Althoff sees his notion of the successful decoration of spaces, things, and surfaces realized in the “reflection of an approach to art in the homes of people with good taste and intellectual brilliance from times long past.” The interiors of a Florine Stettheimer come to mind, an early 20th century New York painter who held elegant salons for leading artists, art dealers, and collectors of the day.

Installation view: "Kai Althoff", Michael Werner Gallery, London 2014

Installation view: “Kai Althoff”, Michael Werner Gallery, London 2014

Althoff transformed the spaces of the London branch of Galerie Werner, one of the global players on the art market, into just such a salon. With this individual show, the artist catapulted himself into the top league—of course not without referring to the upcoming retrospective planned for New York’s MoMA in 2016. But the view and access to the “hot goods”—the painting itself—were aggravated in that drapes of semi-transparent material were placed over the pictures, blocking a free view. In the midst of it all, mannequins as silent figures, draped in flowing cloth, quiet music (composed and sung by Kai Althoff) and small tables where one could sit as if one were supposed to feel at home.

It seemed as if the decoration was intended to distract from the pictures themselves with their quiet scenes in earthy colors. Their casts were reduced to several people; often children or animals were the main figures. With very unusual picture formats, where there was scarcely a right angle, the pictures seemed to want to distance themselves from the clear classification as paintings. Instead, they nestled into the furnishings of a room cloaked in semi-darkness. They were there and at the same time resisted being viewed as much as they could. The lines separating beholder, producer, craftsmanship, and artifact became permeable, creating an intimacy in the space that let the commodity character of the paintings slip to the background for several moments.

Installation view: "Kai Althoff", Michael Werner Gallery, London 2014

Installation view: “Kai Althoff”, Michael Werner Gallery, London 2014

Kai Althoff "Untitled", 2014 Oil, enamel, oil crayon and linseed oil on linen, 119 x 242 cm

Kai Althoff’s striking ambivalence vis-à-vis institutions and the market seems to be something of his trademark. When he declined participation in Documenta (13), the aritistic director Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev exhibited the five-page, handwritten letter of refusal in a case as the only item on display in a huge hall. In this way, Althoff ultimately did participate in one of the most important exhibitions in the world, without delivering a single work. It is no surprise that doubts then were raised of whether he ever really meant his refusal seriously.

Born in Cologne in 1966, his artistic activity began in the late 1980s with a band. The band Workshop was not just characterized by the object character of the individual albums; what was important was the production process in the collective with varying memberships. This idea of a non-hierarchical art practice accessible to all beyond elitist high culture, beyond the realm of individual art geniuses, was widespread in the 1970s. As could be seen in the recent Sigmar Polke exhibition in Cologne, the playful and integrational approach to art were linked to great hopes in a transformation of society were linked. Beuys’ notion of “social sculpture” should be seen in this context.

workshop_04-488x600

Workshop: Kai Althoff (Mitte) in Köln, 2004. Courtesy Sonig Records, Foto: Stephan Abry

Althoff maintained this attitude throughout the 1980s, a time in which the male-dominant artist cult came back into fashion with the “neue Wilden,” the “new wild” painters of German art. With the expansion of the concept of art, Althoff also linked the integration of bordering arts like music, poetry, theater, architecture, applied art, applied graphic design, and so on. His early exhibitions at the Cologne galleries Lukas & Hoffmann, Christian Nagel und Daniel Buchholz were marked by the great heterogeneity and the mixing of genres and seduced with literary titles such as Uwe: Auf guten Rat folgt Missetat, 1994, Bezirk der Widerrede, 1998, or Ein noch zu weiches Gewese der Urian Brüder, 2000. They evoke an imaginary space, that is by no means inferior to the space of association opened by the artifacts.

After 2000, he made a name for himself with large solo shows. After his 2004 exhibition at ICA Boston, a show followed at Kunsthalle Zurich in 2007 and in 2008 a comprehensive show at Vancouver Art Gallery. The latter, in its tripartite structure, showed Althoff’s various approaches, depending on his intention.

On the one hand, collaborations with artists and laypeople continued to have validity, just as did his interdisciplinary view of art. While in the exhibition catalogue he propagated the negation of art (“I do not think art exists even,” Kai Althoff & Jennifer M. Volland: In Conversation, Vancouver Art Gallery, 2008, 18) that sounds as if for him there is simply no difference between art and non-art.

althoff_16

Vancouver Art Gallery, Courtesy of the artist and Gladstone gallery, New York

althoff_15

Vancouver Art Gallery, Courtesy of the artist and Gladstone gallery, New York

In Vancouver, Althoff invited the young art school graduate Travis Joseph Meinolf from San Francisco to collaborate with him. Meinolf brought his own self-made looms to museums and galleries to recall the weaving of warming blankets as a valuable cultural ability. Althoff himself, using the pseudonym Joey Engelhardt, created drawings as decoration for the weaving course and created seating of white wooden furniture and glowing blue pillows for the workshop. The invented alter ego separated his product from the prominent artist personality and attributed it to a communal project.

Meinolf and his loom also played an important role in I Will Be the Last, a dance performance held on the opening day in Vancouver and for which later at the exhibition Not Yet Titled at Museum Ludwig an entire room was dedicated to showing a projection of the performance in original size. The floor of the projection space in Cologne was covered in the same white velour carpeting as the original setting of the performance, so that the lines separating the fictional and the real presence blurred. In I Will Be the Last amateur dancers present an Arcadian idyll in which the harmony of the community is threatened by a single person (Althoff), who is ultimately excluded from the group. The music, consisting of cymbal and computer sounds, was also by Kai Althoff, who has been making music since his youth. Together with ancient costumes and movements muted by the carpet, the sound level amplified the strangely engrossed tenor of this performance.

KA_2008.15 003

KA_2008.30 001

The second exhibition segment at Vancouver Art Gallery was curated by Jeff Wall. It showed a range of Althoff’s painting. These were the paintings that triggered the fascination among collectors for Althoff as an artist. With changing styles, reminiscent of early medieval frescoes or elaboration book illustrations, without seeming antiquated, they enchant with their precision and the ceremonial seriousness with which they illuminate their narrative subjects. They are the exact opposite of a collective product. Amazingly intimate and touching due to the style of painting, their expressive power, and to their complex content, these paintings are only conceivable as the result of a deep immersion in his own activity. In addition the artist genius comes into his own, a genius that is linked to others in collective works and in a certain sense is lost in them.

Seen in this way, Althoff’s sculptures and objects, that made up the third part of the exhibition, could be understood as a synthesis of these two counter poles, a celebration of subjective expression on the one hand, merging into the community on the other. One of these objects is the iron sculpture Untitled. This work also emerged as part of acollaboration, a collaboration between Aachen metalworker Michael Hammer with Kai Althoff, who provided the drawings for it. With dimensions of 3 x 3 x 2 meters it expands in the space, quite literally. Two overextended arms with balloon-like sleeves or arms swing out over a strangely rolled up figure up high. The head floats just above the ground, framed by a low construction of iron rods, half support, half cage. It is unclear whether at issue is a place of retreat for its own protection or an attempt at breaking out—probably both.

In 2013, a work by Althoff appeared in the new collection presentation by Philipp Kaiser at Museum Ludwig, Not Yet Titled: the already mentioned steel sculpture from Vancouver, for the support of which Kaiser was able to win over the Freunde des Wallraf-Richartz-Museum and Museum Ludwig. Gracious and elegant, characterized by formal perfection and yet open and permeable in everyway, the figure forged using armoring iron spanned a bridge from the Rhineland tradition of art to sculpture of the 21st century with linkages to Ewald Mataré and his southern portal of the Cologne Cathedral to the Cologne-New York avant-garde of the 1990s, of which the Cologne artist Althoff was a key figure.

csm_KaiAlthoff_aa9dd88051

Kai Althoff, Ohne Titel, 2008, Stahl, 279.4 x 318.8 x 205.4 cm, © Kai Althoff / Courtesy of Gladstone Gallery, New York and Brussels

Kai Althoff had finally arrived in the museum to which he had been invited a good ten years ago by Kaspar König. But he rejected the invitation, just as he did Kathrin Rhomberg’s invitation to Kölnischer Kunstverein. He preferred to nest on the city margins at the Simultanhalle, the rehearsal stage for the new building of Museum Ludwig. With the escapistically biting overall installation Immo (2004) Althoff also took his leave from Cologne. New York, where he already achieved great international attention in 2001 with “Impulse” at Anton Kern Gallery at a participation one year later in Drawing Now: Eight Propositions at MoMA, now became the focus of his life. In Cologne, one was surprised by the huge limousines parked outside his exhibition in Chorweiler. The collectors were eager to get their hands on the Althoff originals, that were hidden between found pieces like pieces of clothing, posters, furniture, and old record player, and a much older baby carriage and the like. With the sale, the destruction of the total work of art, that Althoff understood “Immo” as, was accepted.

immo_4

immo_3

immo_5

Kai Althoff “Immo” Simultanhalle, Köln, 2003

Such experiences might well have contributed to Kai Althoff’s distanced attitude to public attention. He participates in the exhibition business, infiltrating it with reformist models, but tries stubbornly to control the presentation of the work to the outside, for example, by own releasing illustrations in exchange for seeing the text written first. This could be understood as censorship, or as the attempt to protect the autonomy of the artistic statement by all means. As an author, this attitude is quite understandable, and can even be considered laudable, an offer of cooperation that does not exclude defining one’s own position in the economic system of art.

> deutsch


tags: ,

Kai Althoff

Kai Althoff

> english

Außen vor und mittendrin – Ein Portrait von Sabine Elsa Müller.

„But spirituality and adornment are no enemies, – rather both are to discover their natural unification within the feeble attempt to make life bearable.“

Der Begleittext, den Kai Althoff im Herbst 2014 seiner ersten Einzelausstellung bei Michael Werner beilegte, las sich wie ein Manifest, das in der Forderung nach einer Balance zwischen Spiritualität und Dekor gipfelte.

Wie der Spiritualität wird auch der schönen Form, dem Dekor, die Fähigkeit zugeschrieben, die Seele zu beruhigen und zwar auf ästhetischer Ebene. Seine Vorstellung des gelungenen Dekors der Räume, Dinge und Oberflächen sieht Althoff verwirklicht in der „Reflexion des Umgangs mit Kunst in den Wohnungen von Menschen mit gutem Geschmack und intellektueller Brillanz in längst vergangenen Zeiten“. Die Interieurs einer Florine Stettheimer kommen einem in den Sinn, einer New Yorker Malerin, die im frühen 20. Jahrhunderts elegante Salons, in denen sich führende Künstler, Kunsthändler und Sammler trafen, führte.

Installation view: "Kai Althoff", Michael Werner Gallery, London 2014

Installation view: „Kai Althoff“, Michael Werner Gallery, London 2014

In einen solchen Salon verwandelte Althoff die Räume der Londoner Dependance der Galerie Werner, die zu den Global Playern des Kunstmarkts zählt. Mit der Einzelausstellung katapultierte sie den Künstler direkt in die oberste Liga – natürlich nicht ohne auf die für 2016 im New Yorker MoMA geplante Retrospektive zu verweisen. Aber Blick und Zugang zur „heißen Ware“ Gemälde waren erschwert – Draperien aus semitransparenten Stoffen lagen über den Bildern und behinderten den freien Blick. Dazwischen Schneiderpuppen als stumme, in fließende Tücher gewandete Gestalten, leise Musik (komponiert und gesungen von Kai Althoff) und kleine Tische, an die man sich setzen konnte, so als sollte man sich ganz wie zu Hause fühlen.

Es schien, als solle das Dekor geradezu von den Bildern mit ihren ohnehin stillen, in tonigen Farben gehaltenen Szenen ablenken. Deren Personal reduzierte sich auf wenige Personen; häufig waren Kinder oder Tiere die Protagonisten. Mit Bildformaten von ganz ungewöhnlichem Zuschnitt, bei dem kaum einmal ein rechter Winkel vorkam, schienen sich die Bilder von der eindeutigen Zuordnung als Gemälde zu distanzieren. Stattdessen schmiegten sie sich ein in die Ausstattung eines im Halbdunkel liegenden Zimmers. Sie waren da und entzogen sich gleichzeitig nach Kräften der Betrachtung. Die Grenzen zwischen Betrachter, Produzent, Handwerk und Artefakt wurden durchlässig, wodurch sich eine Intimität im Raum herstellte, die den Warencharakter der Bilder für einige Momente in den Hintergrund treten ließ.

Installation view: "Kai Althoff", Michael Werner Gallery, London 2014

Installation view: „Kai Althoff“, Michael Werner Gallery, London 2014

Kai Althoff "Untitled", 2014 Oil, enamel, oil crayon and linseed oil on linen, 119 x 242 cm

Kai Althoffs ausgeprägte Ambivalenz den Institutionen und dem Markt gegenüber scheint ihn wie ein Markenzeichen zu begleiten. Als er 2012 seine Teilnahme an der Documenta (13) absagte, stellte die künstlerische Leiterin Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev den fünfseitigen, handgeschriebenen Absage-Brief in einer Vitrine als einziges Exponat in einem riesigen Saal aus. Auf diese Weise nahm Althoff doch noch an einer der bedeutendsten Ausstellungen der Welt teil, ohne ein einziges Werk geliefert zu haben. Kein Wunder, dass Zweifel laut wurden, ob er es mit der Absage tatsächlich je ernst gemeint haben konnte.

1966 in Köln geboren, begann seine künstlerische Tätigkeit Ende der 80er Jahre mit einer Band. „Workshop“ zeichnete sich nicht nur durch den Objektcharakter der einzelnen Alben aus – wichtig war der Produktionsprozess im Kollektiv und mit wechselnder Besetzung. Diese Vorstellung einer nicht hierarchischen, jedermann zugänglichen Kunstpraxis jenseits der elitären, von einzelnen Künstlergenies verantworteten Hochkultur fand in den 70er Jahren weite Verbreitung. Wie sich auch an der kürzlich zu Ende gegangen Ausstellung von Sigmar Polke in Köln sehr gut ablesen ließ, verbanden sich mit diesem spielerischen und integrativen Umgang mit Kunst große Hoffnungen auf eine Veränderung der Gesellschaft. Auch Beuys´ Begriff der „Sozialen Plastik“ gehört in diesen Zusammenhang.

workshop_04-488x600

Workshop: Kai Althoff (Mitte) in Köln, 2004. Courtesy Sonig Records, Foto: Stephan Abry

Althoff rettete diese Haltung durch die 80er Jahre hindurch, eine Zeit, in der mit den „Neuen Wilden“ der Künstlerkult männlich-dominanter Prägung wieder zu neuen Ehren fand. Mit der Erweiterung des Kunstbegriffs verbindet Althoff aber auch die Integration angrenzender Künste wie Musik, Lyrik, Theater, Architektur, angewandte Kunst, Gebrauchsgrafik und und und. Seine frühen Ausstellungen in den Kölner Galerien Lukas & Hoffmann, Christian Nagel und Daniel Buchholz sind durch große Heterogenität sowie die Durchmischung der Genres gekennzeichnet und verführen mit literarischen Titeln wie „Uwe: Auf guten Rat folgt Missetat“, 1994, „Bezirk der Widerrede“, 1998, oder „Ein noch zu weiches Gewese der Urian Brüder“, 2000. Sie evozieren einen imaginären Raum, der dem durch die Artefakte eröffneten Assoziationsspielraum in nichts nachsteht.

Nach 2000 machte er mit großen Einzelausstellungen von sich reden. Nach der Ausstellung 2004 im ICA Boston, folgte 2007 die Kunsthalle Zürich und 2008 eine umfassende Schau in der Vancouver Art Gallery, Kanada. Letztere zeigt durch ihre dreiteilige Gliederung Althoffs je nach Intention praktizierten, ganz unterschiedlichen Vorgehensweisen.

Zum einen haben Kollaborationen mit Künstlern und Laien für ihn immer noch eine ungebrochene Gültigkeit, ebenso wie die spartenübergreifende Auffassung von Kunst. Wenn er im Ausstellungs-Katalog gleichzeitig die Negation der Kunst propagiert („I do not think art exists even“, in: Kai Althoff & Jennifer M. Volland, In Conversation, Katalog Vancouver Art Gallery, 2008, S. 18) klingt das so, als ob es für ihn zwischen Kunst und Nicht-Kunst einfach keinen Unterschied gibt.

althoff_16

Vancouver Art Gallery, Courtesy of the artist and Gladstone gallery, New York

althoff_15

Vancouver Art Gallery, Courtesy of the artist and Gladstone gallery, New York

In Vancouver lud Althoff denn auch den jungen Kunsthochschulabgänger Travis Joseph Meinolf aus San Francisco zur Kooperation. Meinolf bringt selbst entwickelte Webstühle in die Museen und Galerien, um das Weben von wärmenden Decken als eine wertvolle kulturelle Fähigkeit in Erinnerung zu rufen. Althoff selbst bebilderte unter dem Pseudonym „Joey Engelhardt“ den Weblehrgang mit Zeichnungen und schuf für den Werkraum eine Sitzlandschaft aus weißen Holzmöbeln und leuchtend blauen Polsterkissen. Das fingierte Alter Ego trennt das Produkt von der prominenten Künstlerpersönlichkeit und ordnet es dem Gemeinschaftsprojekt zu.

Meinolf und seine Webrahmen spielten auch eine wichtige Rolle in der Tanzperformance „I will be last“, die am Eröffnungstag in Vancouver aufgeführt wurde und der später in der Ausstellung „Not Yet Titled“ im Museum Ludwig als Projektion in Originalgröße ein eigener Raum gewidmet war. Der Fußboden des Projektionsraums in Köln wurde mit dem gleichen weißen Veloursteppich ausgelegt wie das Setting der Performance, so dass die Grenzen zwischen der fiktionalen und der realen Gegenwart verschwammen. In „I will be last“ führen Laientänzer ein arkadisches Idyll vor, in dem die Harmonie der Gemeinschaft jedoch durch eine einzelne Person (Althoff) bedroht wird, die schließlich von der Gruppe verstoßen wird. Die aus Zimbel- und Computerklängen generierte Musik stammt ebenfalls von Kai Althoff, der sich seit frühester Jugend Musik macht. Zusammen mit den antikisierenden Kostümen und den stilisierten, durch den Teppich gedämpften Bewegungen verstärkt die Klangebene den eigentümlich entrückten Grundtenor dieser Performance.

KA_2008.15 003

KA_2008.30 001

Das zweite Ausstellungssegment in der Vancouver Art Gallery hatte Jeff Wall kuratiert. Es zeigte einen Querschnitt durch die Malerei Althoffs. Es sind diese Gemälde, deren Faszination gerade unter den Sammlern den Hype um den Künstler Althoff begründete. Mit wechselnder Stilistik, an frühmittelalterliche Fresken oder aufwendige Buchillustrationen erinnernd ohne irgendwie verstaubt zu wirken, bezaubern sie durch ihre Präzision und den feierlichen Ernst, mit denen sie ihre erzählerischen Sujets ausleuchten. Sie sind das genaue Gegenteil eines Gemeinschaftsprodukts: Ungeheuer intim und berührend sowohl durch Malstil und Ausdruckkraft, als auch durch die komplexen Inhalte sind diese Bilder nur als Ergebnis einer tiefen Versunkenheit in das eigene Tun denkbar. Hier kommt das einsame Künstlergenie zu seinem Recht, das sich in den Gemeinschaftsarbeiten wiederum mit den anderen verbindet und sich gewissermaßen darin verliert.

So gesehen, könnten Althoffs Skulpturen und Objekte, die den dritten Part der Ausstellung ausmachten, als Synthese dieser beiden Gegenpole – Feier des subjektiven Selbstausdrucks auf der einen, Aufgehen in der Gemeinschaft auf der anderen Seite – verstanden werden. Eines dieser Objekte ist die Eisenskulptur „Ohne Titel“. Auch sie ist durch Kooperation entstanden, einer Zusammenarbeit des Aachener Schmieds Michael Hammers mit Kai Althoff, der die Zeichnungen dazu lieferte. Mit ihren Maßen von circa 3 x 3 x 2 Metern greift sie weit in den Raum aus, und zwar buchstäblich: Zwei überlange Arme mit ballonartigen Manschetten oder Ärmeln schwingen sich aus einer seltsam in sich eingerollten Figur in die Höhe. Der Kopf schwebt knapp über dem Boden, eingerahmt von einer niedrigen Konstruktion aus Eisenstäben, halb Stütze, halb Käfig. Es ist unklar, ob es sich eher um einen Rückzug zum eigenen Schutz oder einen Ausbruchsversuch handelt – vermutlich beides.

2013 tauchte erstmals auch eine Arbeit Althoffs in der von Philipp Kaiser neu geordneten Sammlungspräsentation „Not Yet Titled“ im Museum Ludwig auf: Die bereits erwähnte Eisenskulptur aus Vancouver, für deren Ankauf Kaiser die Unterstützung der Freunde des Wallraf-Richartz-Museum und Museum Ludwig gewinnen konnte. Grazil und elegant, von formaler Perfektion und doch in jeder Hinsicht offen und durchlässig, schaffte die aus Armierungseisen geschmiedete Figur den Spannungsbogen von der rheinischen Kunsttradition zur Skulptur des 21. Jahrhunderts mit Anknüpfungen an Ewald Mataré und seinem Südportal des Kölner Doms bis zur Köln-New Yorker Avantgarde der 90er Jahre, deren Stammpersonal der Kölner Althoff hinzuzurechnen ist.

csm_KaiAlthoff_aa9dd88051

Kai Althoff, Ohne Titel, 2008, Stahl, 279.4 x 318.8 x 205.4 cm, © Kai Althoff / Courtesy of Gladstone Gallery, New York and Brussels

Kai Althoff war in dem Museum angekommen, in das er schon vor gut zehn Jahren von Kaspar König eingeladen worden war. Damals war er dieser Einladung – wie auch zuvor der Einladung von Kathrin Rhomberg in den Kölnischen Kunstverein – nicht gefolgt. Er hatte sich lieber am Stadtrand in der Simultanhalle eingenistet, der Probebühne für den Neubau des Museum Ludwig. Mit der eskapistisch bissigen Gesamtinstallation „Immo“ (2004) nahm Althoff gleichzeitig seinen Abschied von Köln. New York, wo er schon 2001 mit „Impulse“ in der Anton Kern Gallery und der Beteiligung ein Jahr später in „Drawing Now: Eight Propositions“ im MoMA große internationale Aufmerksamkeit erlangte, wurde zum neuen Lebensmittelpunkt. In Köln wunderte man sich über die dicken Limousinen, die vor seiner Ausstellung in Chorweiler vorfuhren. Die Sammler rissen sich um Althoff-Originale, die zwischen Fundstücken wie Kleidungsstücken, Postern, Einrichtungsgegenständen, einem alten Plattenspieler und einem noch viel älteren Kinderwagen und dergleichen versteckt waren. Mit dem Ausverkauf wurde die Zerstörung des Gesamtkunstwerks, als das Althoff „Immo“ verstanden wissen wollte, in Kauf genommen.

immo_4

immo_3

immo_5

Kai Althoff „Immo“ Simultanhalle, Köln, 2003

Solche Erfahrungen mögen zu Kai Althoffs distanzierter Haltung gegenüber der öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit beigetragen haben. Er nimmt am Ausstellungsbetrieb teil, infiltriert ihn mit reformerischen Modellen, versucht aber hartnäckig, die Vermittlung des Werkes nach außen zu kontrollieren, z.B. indem er Abbildungsmaterial für eine Besprechung nur nach Vorlage des Textes freigibt. Man kann das als Zensur betrachten, oder als Versuch, die Autonomie der künstlerischen Aussage mit allen Mitteln zu schützen. Als Autor kann man eine solche Haltung durchaus nachvollziehen und vielleicht sogar schätzen – als eine Art Kooperationsangebot, das dennoch nicht ausschließt, die eigene Position im Ökonomiesystem Kunst selbst zu definieren.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
> english

tags: , , ,